Tri-kakud-dhama: Master of three worlds, He is the supporter of the three States of Consciousness

tam īśvarāṇāṁ paramaṁ maheśvaraṁ taṁ devatānāṁ paramaṁ ca daivatam
patiṁ patīnāṁ paramaṁ parastād vidāma devaṁ bhuvaneśam īḍyam
na tasya kāryaṁ karaṇaṁ ca vidyate na tat-samaś cābhyadhikaś ca dṛśyate
parāsya śaktir vividhaiva śrūyate svābhāvikī jñāna-bala-kriyā ca

“The Supreme Lord is the controller of all other controllers, and He is the greatest of all the diverse planetary leaders. Everyone is under His control. All entities are delegated with particular power only by the Supreme Lord; they are not supreme themselves. He is also worshipable by all demigods and is the supreme director of all directors. Therefore, He is transcendental to all kinds of material leaders and controllers and is worshipable by all. There is no one greater than Him, and He is the supreme cause of all causes.

The Supreme Lord Krishna attracts everything and everyone in the three planetary systems – Lower, Middle and Upper.

eṣa dainan-dinaḥ sargo rāhmas trailokya-vartanaḥ
tiryaṅ-nṛ-pitṛ-devānāṁ sambhavo yatra karmabhi (3.11.26)

In the creation, during Brahmā’s day, the three planetary systems—Svarga, Martya and Pātāla—revolve, and the inhabitants, including the lower animals, human beings, demigods and Pitās, appear and disappear in terms of their fruitive activities.

vasati daśana-śikhare dharaṇī tava lagnā
śaśini kalaṅka-kaleva nimagnā
keśava dhṛta-śūkara-rūpa jaya jagadīśa hare (Jayadeva Dashavatara)

“All glories to Lord Keśava (Kṛṣṇa), who appeared as the boar. The earth was held between His tusks, which appeared like the scars on the moon.”

There are three planetary systems—upper, middle and lower. Those influenced by the mode of goodness are given places in the upper planetary systems—Brahmaloka (Satyaloka), Tapoloka, Janaloka and Maharloka. Those influenced by the mode of passion are given places in the Bhūrloka and Bhuvarloka. Those influenced by the mode of ignorance are given places in Atala, Vitala, Sutala, Talātala, Mahātala, Rasātala, Pātāla or the animal kingdom. Qualitatively the living entity is the same as the Supreme Personality of Godhead, but because of his forgetfulness he gets different bodies in different planetary systems. At the present moment human society is overly influenced by the mode of passion, and consequently people are engaged in working in big factories. They forget how distressful it is to live in such places.

sattvaj jagaranam vidyad rajasa svapnam adiset
prasvapam tamasa jantos turiyam trisu santatam (SB 11.25.20)

It should be understood that alert wakefulness comes from the mode of goodness, sleep with dreaming from the mode of passion, and deep, dreamless sleep from the mode of ignorance. The fourth state of consciousness pervades these three and is transcendental.

The Lord in His Varaha Roopa- Boar incarnation, had the Huge form which touchd the three planetary systems and He lifted Mother Earth from the depths of the ocean. The inhabitants of the various planetary systems so occupy the planets based on the influence of the Gunas – Rajas, Sattva and Tamas. There are also the three stages of consciousness – Wakefullness, Sleep with dreams and then the dreamless sleep which are again influenced by the Gunas.

Beyond all this is the fourth stage called the Krishna Consciousness where the three Gunas cannot influence the Pure Devotee who is situated in Shuddha Sattva.

Lets chant the Holy Name of the Lord of the three world, the three stages of consciousness and seek to have the fourth stage of consciousness always – the Krishna consciousness where only Pure Bhakti prevails and our devotional service is ever so strong as Lord Varahaswamy in His Varaha Roopam.

Nama 62 – VishnuSahasranama

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *